星期四, 十月 12, 2006

12 Tips for Creating Better Presentations - Mozilla Firefox

[webnote]
 
 
*
Quick Links  | Home | Worldwide
Microsoft *
Search Microsoft.com for:

12 Tips for Creating Better Presentations

Published: January 7, 2005
* *
* *
 

Do more with your computer

line
More from this author

Microsoft Office Document Designer

Microsoft Office Document Designer
Build even the most complex documents in a fraction of the time. The book includes a CD with document production tools, how-to articles, and dozens of professional designs and layouts.

You have a presentation to create. It's important. But, formatting diagrams can take forever and the text on your slides seems to have a mind of its own. Then, there's the sad fact that everybody's PowerPoint presentations look the same.

Sound about right? If so, I've got good news for you! Creating professional, unique presentations can be much easier than you might think.

This article will help you find the right tools to get exactly the presentation you want. We'll look at three components of creating effective presentations, and provide timesaving tips to help send your presentation off in style.

On This Page
Clearly Communicate Your Information Clearly Communicate Your Information
Grab the Viewer's Attention Grab the Viewer's Attention
Stay in Control of Your Presentations Stay in Control of Your Presentations

Clearly Communicate Your Information

Want slides that clearly communicate your most important points? You might be surprised at how little work it takes to go from basic to brilliant! PowerPoint provides a host of tools for keeping your slides consistent, precise, and professional.

Take a look at two versions of a basic bulleted text slide below. The text in both slides is identical. Which would you prefer to present?

Example of a well-formatted presentation

It took just a couple of shapes and a bit of editing in the Slide Master to go from the slide on the left to the slide on the right.

Here are 4 ways to let Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2003 help you clearly communicate your information:

1.

Set up and use AutoLayouts. In PowerPoint 2003, you can select from over two dozen available layouts with a single click. Just open the Slide Layout task pane to view and access layouts for text and a variety of content. To open this task pane, on the Format menu click Slide Layout.

You can also customize the positioning and appearance of all layouts at once, using the Slide Master. On the Slide Master, make a variety of formatting changes just once to affect all slides in your presentation.

To access the Slide Master, on the View menu select Master and then click Slide Master. Once in Slide Master view, you can reformat the font, bullets, and even the line spacing of text. (These options are all available in the Format menu.) Or, alter the size and positioning of AutoLayout areas—the areas of the master that control slide layouts for the active presentation. Learn more about the Slide Master.

Get more tips for using masters in the Stay in Control of Your Presentations section of this article.

2.

Turn off (or manage) AutoCorrect layout options. PowerPoint 2003 provides several automatic formatting options to help your slides conform to the provided layouts. They can be big timesavers, but they can also be frustrating if you're not using them intentionally. If you don't want your bulleted text to shrink automatically in order to fit content, or the positioning of pasted objects to change automatically, you can easily turn off these features.

To turn off any AutoFormat options, on the Tools menu click AutoCorrect Options. Then, select the AutoFormat As You Type tab of that dialog box.

AutoCorrect task pane

The bottom three options on the AutoFormat As You Type tab of the AutoCorrect dialog box control automatic formatting behavior for layouts.

3.

Start by outlining your presentation in Word. Take time to outline your presentation before creating slides. Doing so can save time and help you give a more clear and effective presentation.

Try setting up your outline in Word, using paragraph styles Heading 1 through Heading 9. When you use those styles for your outline, you can create PowerPoint slides in just a click. Learn to create PowerPoint slides from a Word outline.

4.

Consider differences for print vs. screen presentations. Presentations designed to be viewed on screen don't always work well when you print them. Dark backgrounds that look good on slides, for example, rarely print well. Similarly, footer content that you need in print is likely to be distracting on-screen. Fortunately, PowerPoint makes it easy to switch between print and screen presentation designs. Here are two features that can help:

•

PowerPoint provides color schemes that apply to different slide elements (such as text, lines, and object fills). You can format slides for print using one color scheme, then just click to apply a different scheme for on-screen use. All slide elements formatted with scheme colors will automatically swap to take on the new scheme. Learn more about using and customizing color schemes.

•

Showing, hiding, and customizing header and footer content in PowerPoint can be a snap. Learn how to create and manage headers and footers.

Grab the Viewer's Attention

The Microsoft Office Clip Art gallery offers a huge range of images. These can be great for many uses, but they might not be the most sophisticated way to emphasize your important idea.

Creating slides that get the viewer's attention is not about which pictures to include. It's about using the space on your slides effectively. Don't crowd your slides, and only include elements that contribute to the points you want to make. When you use graphics on a slide, choose images that serve a purpose (such as a chart or diagram that displays a direct benefit of your idea). Compare the two marketing slides below, for example.

Example of a PowerPoint slide that grabs the reader's attention

The simple column chart in the slide on the right replaces two paragraphs of text, and makes a much stronger impression. Coordinating the chart colors with the slide design was automatic.

Check out 4 ways to help grab and keep your viewer's attention.

1.

Use sound recordings when sending a presentation electronically. A clean slide that emphasizes key points is more effective than a slide that contains every word you intend to say. But, what do you do if you're sending your presentation electronically? Consider recording narration to accompany your slides.

•

To record narration for a presentation, on the Slide Show menu click Record Narration.

•

To record sound for a single slide, on the Insert menu select Movies and Sounds and then click Record Sounds.

Learn how to record narration and sounds.

2.

Use Notes and Handouts to help you stay on track or to create quick and easy leave-behinds for your viewers. Use the Notes pane that appears below the slide in Normal view to write notes to yourself for your presentation, or to create notes that you can print for your viewers. You can also format and print handouts that contain up to nine slides per page.

Learn to create Notes pages and Handouts.

3.

Create charts and diagrams that emphasize your key points. To chart data in PowerPoint, start by clicking the Insert Chart icon on any Content slide layout, as show here:

Insert Chart icon circled in red

The Insert Chart icon is circled in red.

•

When you click the Insert Chart icon, you'll get a default chart that's a snap to customize and a data worksheet that's easy to edit. Visit my blog to learn about charting data in PowerPoint.

•

The Insert Diagram or Organization Chart tool (available from the Drawing toolbar) is a nice way to create quick and easy flowcharts. However, I find that using AutoShapes to create any type of diagram or flowchart can provide much more flexibility without much more work. See the Stay in Control of Your Presentations section of this article below for information on the available tools for creating flawless presentation graphics.

4.

Use animation and slide transitions consistently and sparingly. Having text and graphics appear on-screen just when you need them can be a nice touch. However, using too much animation can distract from your presentation's content.

•

For effects that emphasize without overwhelming, limit animation to key points and use consistent animation choices throughout the presentation. Open the Custom Animation task pane (available on the Slide Show menu) to apply and manage animation. Learn to use Custom Animation.

•

Subtle and consistent slide transitions can also provide a professional touch without being distracting. Use the Slide Transition task pane (available from the Slide Show menu) to format and apply slide transitions. Learn about using slide transitions and timings.

Stay in Control of Your Presentations

Custom colors, layouts, and graphics can do a lot for your presentation. But a misaligned flowchart, or a presentation that crashes on your client's computer, isn't likely to make the impression you want. For example, take a look at the two organization chart images below. Which would you prefer to call your own?

Example of a PowerPoint slide that is easier to read

Nudging and fussing to create the organization chart on the left took about an hour, and it's far from perfect. Using available PowerPoint tools for duplicating and alignment, the chart on the right took just 10 minutes to create.

Here are 4 ways to keep your presentations both great-looking and easy-to-manage.

1.

Keep file size manageable. A common cause of stress with PowerPoint presentations is that the file size becomes too large to edit or to run presentation smoothly. Fortunately, this problem is easy to avoid by using smaller picture file types, compressing pictures, and using native PowerPoint features whenever possible (such as tables, charts, and AutoShapes) instead of embedding and importing objects.

Visit my blog to learn more about options for reducing picture file size.

2.

Use the available tools for creating perfect diagrams. One of the nicest things about PowerPoint is that getting something perfect is easier than getting it close.

•

Instead of nudging objects until your eyes get tired, use the Align Or Distribute tools. They can help you perfectly align and evenly distribute objects in a click. To access these tools, select Align or Distribute from the Draw menu, which is available on the Drawing toolbar.

•

You can also use Guides to align and space objects. Guides can help you measure distance and keep positioning of elements consistent across multiple slides. To see your Guides, on the View Menu select Grid and Guides. Then, in the Grid and Guides dialog box, select Display drawing guides on screen.

Learn more about alignment and distribution options for PowerPoint objects.

•

Zooming in on an object in PowerPoint can greatly increase the accuracy of what you see. To do this without trial and error, just select the object before changing the Zoom setting on the Standard toolbar.

Visit my blog for more tips on creating beautiful, flawless diagrams.

3.

Know exactly what the recipient of your presentation will see. If you're sending a presentation by e-mail, try saving the presentation as a Slide Show so that it automatically opens for the recipient in slide show view. To do this, on the File menu click Save As. In the Save As dialog box, select PowerPoint Show (.pps) from the Save As Type dropdown list, as you see here:

Example of how to use Save as type

This screenshot shows how to use save your presentation as a slide show.

If you're sending a presentation on CD, the Package for CD feature in PowerPoint 2003 is a great time and stress-saver. This feature will set up your presentation (including linked files) on a CD so that the slide show will run correctly for any recipient. It even adds a PowerPoint viewer so that the recipient's computer doesn't need PowerPoint to run the show. Learn more about Package for CD.

4.

Use Masters for consistency and to save time. In addition to customizing elements of slide layouts (as discussed earlier in this article), you can use the masters to save time and keep slides consistent by adding graphics and formatting just once for all slides.

•

Place graphics (such as your logo) on the Slide Master, so that they automatically appear on all slides. Note that, when graphics appear on the master, you can still hide them for just certain slides. To hide graphics for an active or selected slide, on the Format menu click Background. Then, in the Background dialog box, select Omit background graphics from master.

•

You can add a Title Master to use different formatting and graphics on title slides from other slides in your presentation. To do this, switch to Slide Master View. Then, select New Title Master from the Insert menu.

•

While a great new feature in PowerPoint enables you to create multiple slide masters for a single presentation, use this feature carefully. Keep in mind that the purpose of a master is to help keep your slides consistent.

Take a brief training course on working with masters.


Stephanie Krieger

Stephanie Krieger
Stephanie Krieger is a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) and a document production expert with more than 10 years of experience. She is also the author of the recently released book Microsoft Office Document Designer. Stephanie has helped many global companies develop enterprise solutions for their Office products and taught a wide range of professionals and professional software trainers to build great documents by understanding the way that Office applications "think." Stephanie writes for several pages across the Microsoft Web site, including Microsoft At Work and Office Online, and frequently delivers Office System webcasts. Visit her blog arouet.net for information on new and upcoming publications and webcasts as well as Office tips that update regularly.



Was This Information Useful?

© 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy Statement

Set yourself up for healthy computing

[webnote]
 
 

Set yourself up for healthy computing

ergo.gif

For those of us slaving away at the 'puter all day long, Macworld's got some ergonomic advice on how to set up a healthy workspace. You'll find the usual ergo recommendations here (quality chair, monitor at a good distance) but this bit on keyboards and wrist rests caught my eye:

Avoid propping up your keyboard on its retractable feet. Although that makes it easier to see the keys, it also forces you to bend your wrists. Also, beware of wrist rests: they help keep your wrists straight, but they put pressure on the nerves and tendons at the back of your wrist. Look for a wrist rest that's smoothly contoured and padded, and only use it during rest periods, not when you're typing.

Avoid propping up your keyboard on its retractable feet. Although that makes it easier to see the keys, it also forces you to bend your wrists. Also, beware of wrist rests: they help keep your wrists straight, but they put pressure on the nerves and tendons at the back of your wrist. Look for a wrist rest that's smoothly contoured and padded, and only use it during rest periods, not when you're typing.

I'm convinced my wrists owe their healthy existence to my split, ergonomic keyboard. What's your favorite piece of anti-RSI gear? Let us know in the comments.

出差回来在飞机上可以做点什么

[webnote]
 
 

出差回来在飞机上可以做点什么?

lifehack.org对那些经常出差的人给出一些建议,在回来的路上可以做点什么来打发时间:

  • 整理名片,把它们输入到你的通讯录里。
  • 填写报销报告,整理发票。
  • 写相关的电子邮件,不必非要等到回办公室再做。
  • 写blog。如果你有。
  • 看一部你过去下载却没时间看的电影。
  • 读书。不是老说没时间读书么,现在有时间了。

"出差回来的飞机上可以做的事情"-来自lifehack.org

FinalData v2.0

[webnote]
[software] 
 
中文名称:FinalData v2.0
英文名称:FinalData v2.0
资源类型:Bin
发行时间:2004年
地区:美国
语言:英语
简介:
[已通过安全检测]卡巴斯基反病毒软件 6.0.300(病毒库2006.07.20)
[已通过安装测试]WinXPSP2
软件版权归原作者及原软件公司所有,如果你喜欢,请购买正版软件
共享服务时间:08:00~24:00
共享服务器:DonkeyServer No1&2


user posted image
user posted image

在Windows 环境下删除一个文件,只有目录信息从FAT或者MFT(NTFS)删除。这意味着文件数据仍然留在你的磁盘上。所以,从技术角度来讲,这个文件是可以恢复的。FinalData就是通过这个机制来恢复丢失的数据的,在清空回收站以后也不例外。另外,FinalData可以很容易地从格式化后的文件和被病毒破坏的文件恢复。甚至在极端的情况下,如果目录结构被部分破坏也可以恢复,只要数据仍然保存在硬盘上。

serial #: NTS19057-0305-065772052339

这个是windows下最好的硬盘恢复软件,这里发布的是它的光盘版。

win_enterprise_server_ENG.gif

星期三, 十月 11, 2006

EverNote:笔记软件

[webnote]
[software] 
 

update: 太多人说不支持中文,所以有必要提示一下,请看我日志的最后一段:)

在Blog中最早提到OneNote的日志中曾经因为找不到注册码使用过一次EverNote,但因为不支持中文便放弃了。相隔10个月后的它推出了1.5版,这次我终于有了放弃OneNote的理由,特此隆重推荐一下它(如果你认为我写的内容过多而懒得看完,那么请看我加重的字体部分,均为其特色功能)。

1. 笔记记录格式:

同一般笔记软件一样,EverNote支持超文本和多种格式文件的记录。比如图片,网页,电子邮件,Excel表格,手写笔记等等。其特色是还支持了样式模板的记录,像银行账户,购物清单,源代码,To-Do List,联系人和短信等基本样式。而且它还能对电脑中任何文件和目录做出链接记录,这样方便我们规划自己的硬盘文档,同时利用其分类和查找功能来管理文档。比如创建一个电影或者软件的档案库,如图所示为我的系统软件列表:

image

2. 数据管理:

可以创建多个数据库进行笔记存储,可以导入,导出到xml格式,可以备份或者恢复,还可以进行和移动存储进行同步,并且可以设定密码保护。

3. 分类:

EverNote有强大的分类管理功能,对笔记条目可以按照分类进行划分,同时一个条目可以归属于多个分类,有点类似是关键字或者Tag一样的功能。这是在OneNote中做不到的,你只能把相同条目复制多条到不同分类中,浪费了存储空间。在设置分类时,可以设定图标和字体颜色,并且可以设定自动进行分类的过滤功能。比如你可以把所有从网页中记录的内容让它自动归划到网络剪辑分类中,或者把所有包含Google这个关键字的条目自动归为"Google"分类等等,这个也是其很具特色的功能,省去了我们在做摘录时手动分类的麻烦。

4. 搜索:

同OneNote不同的是它在搜索时,只会对搜索当前显示的条目而不是指定分类或者条目。这样做的好处是你可以选择指定的几个分类显示出条目后,再进行搜索,而不必每次搜索全部笔记。当然你也可以点击分类的空白处而选择全部笔记来搜索。而且它还可以建立关键字分类来自动对所有笔记中的相应内容进行显示,方法便为刚才分类中所讲述的利用自动分类的过滤功能所建立的Google分类,即为关键字分类。搜索结果用黄色高亮显示,如图所示:image

5. 便捷操作:

  • 强大的拖拽功能:你可以选择网页,应用程序或者图片中的需要部分后,直接拖放到EverNote的新条目中即可。对于电脑中的目录和文件也是直接拖放便显示出链接来。图片文件,txt文本文件和HTM文件则会自动在笔记中显示出来,如果你只希望它们也显示链接,则利用右键拖放即可。对分类的处理也是把条目拖放到分类中便划分到了此分类,同样把分类拖放到条目的状态条上也可。拖放分类则可以重新安排分类和子分类的归属和次序等等。同时你也可以把EverNote中的笔记内容选中后,拖放到不同的应用程序中,比如Word, Excel等等。同时你也可以直接拖放笔记到IM聊天软件的窗口中进行和朋友分享。而且也可以在不同笔记的数据库之间进行拖放处理。
  • 实用插件:EverNote对IE和FireFox都做出了相应的插件,安装后直接选择网页内容后点击图标或者右键选择添加到EverNote中即可。而且可以安装OutLook和Thunderbird的插件来对Email条目进行笔记收藏。
  • 进度条控制:在笔记的右侧上下各有一个进度条,鼠标点击便会向相应的方向移动笔记内容,选择颜色深的部分移动更快,十分便捷。同时右侧可以展开时间状态条,有笔记的部分会以"峰形"显示在对应的时间轴上,点击便会显示相应时间的笔记内容。当然也可以对笔记的时间进行修改设置。
  • 快捷键:在网页或者其它应用软件中,利用ctrl+C复制所选内容后,使用ctrl+alt+V可以不用切换到EverNote窗口便自动添加了新的条目,这在处理PDF或者Word等文件时极为方便。

6. 手写和图形识别:

对于使用Tablet PC的用户或者手写笔用户,EverNote提供了强大的识别功能,可以对识别的文字进行近似匹配修改。更有趣的是进行图形识别,会把手绘的不规则图形进行规则处理,如图所示:image

这里是EverNote的一个Flash演示页面,不过我还是推荐大家亲自下载它使用,因为实属一个不可多得的好软件,而且是免费的,只是手写识别和同步功能有30天的使用限制。

一个半小时,才写完这个日志,可我只是做了一个简要的功能介绍,其实在使用过程中你会发现它更多微妙且实用的细节特色,如果你决定使用它,那么它的帮助一定要细看,从中会得到更多的收获。在这里做一个提示:如果你是想直接手动输入中文的笔记内容,那么请按住Ctrl后鼠标选择"Note Type"中的"Rich Text Note"即可,不然会出现乱码的哦!或者你直接在Option中设定默认的文本格式就为Rich文本。

google站内搜索

Google